Next Meeting: Nov. 16-17, 2017, 8 a.m., CDT, Capitol Building, Room 412, 500 E Capitol Dr., Pierre, SD 57501

School Finance Accountability Board

Information on the School Finance Accountability Board is located on this page. For more information, contact Kathryn Blumhardt at 800 Governors Drive, Pierre, SD 57501 (605) 773-3349.

Upcoming Meeting Documents
Nov. 27, 2017 - Agenda
Nov. 16-17 Meeting Draft Minutes
Draft of Report on School Finance Accountability Board Meetings

School Finance Accountability Board

There is hereby created the School Finance Accountability Board within the Department of Education. The board shall consist of five members appointed by the Governor. The members shall serve a term of four years.

The board may recommend that the provisions of § 13-13-73.5 be waived for a school district if the district can demonstrate that its lowest monthly general cash fund cash balance percentage is the result of special circumstances.

The board may recommend that a penalty against a school district imposed under § 13-13-73.6 be waived, in whole or in part, if the district can demonstrate that its failure to comply with § 13-13-73.6 is due to special circumstances.

The School Finance Accountability Board shall promulgate rules pursuant to chapter 1-26 to establish the appeals process provided for in § 13-13-73.6, and to establish the factors that may be considered in considering a waiver requested by a school district, which shall include the impact of retirements.

Any waivers of § 13-13-73.5 or 13-13-73.6 recommended by the School Finance Accountability Board must be approved by the Joint Committee on Appropriations or the Interim Committee on Appropriations. The Department of Education shall annually report to the Governor and the Legislature the information collected pursuant to §§ 13-8-47 and 13-13-73.6.

School Finance Accountability Board Members
Terry Nebelsick – Huron Susan Proefrock- Belle Fourche
Eric Stroeder- Mobridge Jarod Larson-Brandon Valley
Patrick Weber- Pierre