> Media Releases
Calendar of Events

 2014 Legislature
 A-Z Index
 About the Department
 Board of Education
 Indian Education
 Report Card
 School Directory
 Statistical Digest

 News Releases


 Contact Us

 K-12 Data Center
 SD Codified Laws
 State Library
 Teacher 411
 Virtual School


    Follow sddoe on Twitter   Subscribe to me on YouTube  


Latest Media Releases

For Immediate Release: March 3, 2010
Contact: Mary Stadick Smith - (605) 773-7228

Eight South Dakota schools receive EPSCoR grant funds

Eight South Dakota schools will receive a total of $200,000 to enhance, expand and develop new initiatives in secondary career cluster programs.

The emphasis of the projects will be on four clusters: Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM); Information Technology; Health Science; and Agriculture Science.

Funding for the Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) grants is provided through the National Science Foundation, and the chosen schools were selected by the South Dakota Department of Education. Applicants were encouraged to collaborate by combining resources to provide secondary career and technical education opportunities in regional, multi-center or cooperative approaches.

Projects range from dual credit opportunities in information technology to cutting-edge courses in pre-engineering and biosciences.

Proposal objectives correlated with the goals and objectives of the department’s High School 2025 initiative and efforts to encourage students and families to learn more about career opportunities and prepare for postsecondary education.

The Department of Education received 19 applications to fund projects during this grant cycle.

EPSCoR funds were awarded to the following school systems:

· Alcester-Hudson High School

· Brookings High School

· Canton Middle School

· Chamberlain High School

· East Dakota Educational Cooperative

· Mitchell High School

· Platte/Geddes High School

· Sioux Falls middle schools