> Division of the Secretary > Reward Schools
Calendar of Events

 2014 Legislature
 A-Z Index
 About the Department
 Board of Education
 Indian Education
 Report Card
 School Directory
 Statistical Digest

 News Releases


 Contact Us

 K-12 Data Center
 SD Codified Laws
 State Library
 Teacher 411
 Virtual School


    Follow sddoe on Twitter   Subscribe to me on YouTube  


Proposed Accountability Updates

Reward Schools

South Dakota’s Accountability system recognizes the top performing schools in the state by giving them one of two designations, Exemplary or Status. Designations are assigned based on the results of the School Performance Index, or SPI.

Exemplary Schools:
All South Dakota public schools are eligible for recognition in one of two Exemplary categories:

1) Exemplary High Performing Schools: Schools whose overall SPI scores rank in the top 5 percent of schools across the state.

2) Exemplary High Progress Schools: Schools that rank in the top 5 percent for improvement of Student Achievement and Attendance Indicators for the Gap Group elementary and middle school levels); and Student Achievement and four-year cohort Graduation Gate for the Gap Group (high school level) over a period of two years. Results of the 2014-15 assessments will be used to make this determination for the first time.

Current Exemplary Schools
Sully Buttes Junior High Arlington Elementary Armour Elementary Avon Elementary Hutterusche Colony Elementary, Bon Homme Robert Bennis Elementary, Brandon Valley
Emery Elementary Clark Elementary Colome Elementary Corsica Elementary Deubrook Elementary Clark Colony Elementary, Doland
Hillside Colony Elementary, Doland Ethan Elementary Faulkton Elementary Midland Elementary Leola Elementary Gertie Belle Rogers Elementary, Mitchell
Rutland Junior High All City Elementary, Sioux Falls Challenge Center, Sioux Falls Stickney Elementary Wall Elementary Warner Elementary
White Lake Elementary Arlington High School Armour High School Groton Area High School Hitchcock-Tulare High School Ipswich High School
Leola High School Rosholt High School Scotland High School Timberlake High School Wall High School  

Status Schools:
Schools whose total score on the SPI is between the top 5 and 10% of schools in the state are classified as status schools.

Current Status Schools
Lincoln Elementary, Aberdeen Lakeview Colony Elementary, Andes Central Baltic Elementary Springfield Elementary, Bonhomme Medary Elementary, Brookings Eureka Elementary
Eureka Kindergarten Faulkton Junior High Frederick Elementary Herreid Elementary Howard Elementary Ipswich middle School
Lake Preston Elementary Presho Elementary LB Williams Elementary, Mitchell Montrose Middle School Oldham-Ramona Junior High Parker Elementary
Platte-Geddes Elementary Selby Elementary Selby Junior High Harvey Dunn Elementary, Sioux Falls Garfield Elementary, Watertown Lincoln Elementary, Watertown
Webster Area Elementary Burke High School Centerville High School Corsica High School Phillip High School Jones County High School
McCook Central High School Spearfish High School Warner High School      

No school with a significant achievement gap, as determined by the Focus School calculation, will be classified as an Exemplary or a Status School.

CONTACT: Contact the Office of Assessment and Accountability Staff.