Common Core State Standards

The Common Core State Standards Initiative is a state-led effort to establish a shared set of clear educational standards in English language arts and mathematics for grades K-12.

On Nov. 29, 2010, the South Dakota Board of Education moved to adopt the Common Core Standards.

Common Core for PARENTS and Public

Common Core Standards:

Webb Level

Implementation Resources
ELA Crosswalk Math Crosswalk K-2 ELA Publishers 3-5 ELA Publishers
K-8 Math Publishers ELA Standards Checklist Math Standards Checklist  

Implementation Resources videos:
Chapter 1 Chapter 2 Chapter 3
Chapter 4 Chapter 5 Chapter 6

Useful Links:
(disaggregated work)

Common Core Standards Initiative
Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium


For more information, contact Becky Nelson at the Department of Education's Division of Curriculum, Career and Technical Education at (605) 773-4681.